About the Systems Thinking and Complexity category

Systems Thinking and Complexity

From mechanical equilibrium to dynamic complexity

Dear Kate, that is indeed a good question and it is obvious that what you show graphically as the demand and supply functions is unsatisfactory for explaining properly about how our social system REALLY works. Yet the need is there and most of the so called experts (who are inside the humanities part of the universities) don’t seem to have a clue about how to go about it.

As a retired engineer, I chose to throw my hat into the ring. The subject of macroeconomics can be separated from the rest and it has more relevance when it comes to the governmental decisions for better living and prosperity. So I did my research there by reading up what I could at university libraries on the undergraduate and more advanced writings about this our social system. I should give some credit to some of these books and their authors but my general impression was that their methods for providing explanations are badly expressed and unclear and unsatisfactory for a new student to grasp how our society behaves.

As an engineer, I was and am seeking for a better way for modelling our social system and to describe in more exact terms how it functions. In a sense, Doughnut Economics also fails here because although it is colorful and full of life, it cannot show as in a scientific proof the reason why a particular national policy will result in the certain response of our social system. Of course there is a lot of less fixed things going on at the same time, so this solution needs a lot of care in its preparation.