Help! Trying to engage economists effectively in a critique of the discipline

I did a PhD in sustainable development that was designed and taught almost exclusively by economists. I received about 2 and a half years of doctoral-level economics and found myself coming to similar conclusions about the discipline as Kate (and I was supposed to be learning from the good guys!). I would attempt to challenge some of the more ridiculous assumptions in my classes, but quickly found myself out of my depth as I came up against what appeared to be impenetrable brick walls of Pareto optimality when wanting to raise questions of redistribution, for example.