Peace And Justice

Dear all,
As a psychologist I would like to contribute to the vision of the doughut model by promoting
1.Government Funded Education on Emotion Regulation
2. Building peaceful relationships between countries now in conflict by creating awareness of how traumatic experiences influence our actions and keep us rotating in destructive cylces of violence:
utilizing state of the art interventions of trauma treatment and collective trauma resolution. I am very much interested to start a discussion with other peace building stakeholders in particular those working on the Israeli Palestinian Conflict.

Delighted to read your post, thanks for taking the time.
I am a humanist and have a further perspective to offer the discussion.
I agree that emotional development, (not sure I like the word regulation) in particular empathy, should be an important part of the educational curriculum.
Without this first step, your second point on dispute resolution, is less likely to succeed.
In addition Israel and Palestine have the added complexity of counter-factual religious beliefs underpinning their conflict.
Perhaps our education system could also look to shed superstitious belief systems and encourage our shared humanity?

That’s an interesting point. Although Emotion Regulation sounds too mechanical for what should be the domain of ethics and culture. Fixing emotional trauma is not battling the cause - the trauma is the effect. And the strong emotion is not the cause either - there should be something before it is triggered. One case is not enough, a strong emotion had to reappear again and again to lead to trauma. If it reappears, then there is a reason for that. That reason need to be addressed. And the reason is economical.

In Israeli Palestinian conflict - would there be a conflict if both people had enough land to breed?