Teaching High School Economics - Ideas please!

I’ve just been hired to teach an AP (honors) Microeconomics and Macroeconomics class at our local high school this fall. I’m really impressed by Kate’s thesis in Doughnut Economics and would love to start adapting the typical entry level econ course curriculum to reflect these truths - and to challenge my students. But there is so little practical material out there to adapt for teaching an intro course. So I’m looking for practical advice, suggestions, ideas (anything really).

My main question is: if you could go back and teach/learn any of the fundamental micro or macro principles differently, what would they be? Since this is an AP course (and they have to be able to pass the attendant AP exam), I can’t entirely re-create the curriculum. But I can challenge them to think beyond what the textbooks suggest.

I’ve never taught before (this is a career change for me). I worked as an international business consultant for the past 7 years. Prior to that I earned my Masters from Johns Hopkins in International Relations and International Economics. I fell in love with econ - but was of course led to believe that econ is a positive science (vice normative) and have only recently begun to realize how false that is.

I’m so excited to teach and I love the fact that I have an opportunity to start educating children from an early age (as they grow into their role as active citizens) - but this is also a huge responsibility and I want to get it right. Any help/advice/contacts would be much appreciated.

For reference, I’m in Boulder, Colorado.

Thanks in advance!

Kelly

Hi Kelly, it’s not economics focused but I really liked the work of Facing the Future

They have great teaching materials on sustainablity which I am sure you could adapt to teach doughnut economics. As well as theory they include lots of fun and interactive exercises which help bring the concepts to life.

Good luck and would love to hear how you go.
Pablo